A Guide to Caring for Aging Family Members

http://www.pennlive.com/living/index.ssf/2014/06/post_18.htmldoctor

In her PennLive article above: Not asking doctors questions can lead to medical errors–Linda Rhodes shares a statistic that eight of ten doctors find it helpful when a patient brings someone along to appointments. They welcome a second set of ears, find it reassuring when someone is taking notes, and are glad someone is showing up and asking questions. Doctors appreciate questions because an informed patient is more likely to follow orders correctly. Misunderstanding directions can lead to medical errors—something that a simple question could have avoided.

Although I completely agree with Rhodes’ article, I would like to add, however, that caregivers should also be prepared for conflict. In my experience as a caregiver, the issues of maintaining privacy and independence were exacerbated by the fact that I was a daughter-in-law.

When I went to doctors’ appointments with my mother-in-law, the medical personnel often directed their comments and questions to me. I would politely redirect them to speak directly to her. However, any involvement with medical issues, no matter how important, created discord in our relationship, particularly when I began to set up her medications, which occurred as follows:

After a hospitalization, when my mother-in-law was being released, I asked the doctor what his opinion was of my setting up her medications. My mother-in-law said, “You’re walking on thin ice!” After the doctor left the room, she said angrily to my husband: “You never know what is coming out of her mouth!”

That evening, after getting settled in at home, my husband’s sister called and talked to her mother about my setting up the medications. After the phone call was over, Mom came out, rolling her walker with a vengeance, and said, “Are you happy now?”

In truth, I was never happy when my mother-in-law “lost” the ability to perform a task independently. But in the case of medications, safety was the priority.

Barbara Matthews

Comments on: "Should you sit in on doctor appointments?" (1)

  1. […] Should you sit in on doctor appointments? […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Sing - a - Sonja

Peace with your past, present in the now, excited for the future!

alzheimersactivitiesPLUS

Fun things to do with people with memory loss and tips for caregivers

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

NorthernMSW: Consulting, Advocacy, Aging, Book Reviews, End of Life Information

"We should be present, respectful, compassionate, empathic, and mentors to others."

Not quite the plan

on finding my groove as a 30 something single girl and caregiver for mom with dementia

DEMENTED

The Politically Incorrect Alzheimers Poetry Blog

The Memories Project

Preserving family memories, caring for caregivers

Mom & Dad Care

Caring For Your Aging Parents

Help! Aging Parents

A Guide to Caring for Aging Family Members

An Only Childs Journey into Parent Care

When you are the only one left....

The WordPress.com Blog

A Guide to Caring for Aging Family Members

SUNBURY PRESS BOOKS

Publisher of hard cover, trade paperback, and eBooks

The Selfish Caregiver

Some thoughts on grieving and caregiving when you're young and self-absorbed.

